A Quick Cuppa With…Lorraine

A Quick Cuppa With…Lorraine

Lorraine is a busy housewife and mother of two daughters aged 14 and 12, who she also acts as an unpaid taxi service for!  She is married to Jamie and lives in Newbury, Berkshire. 

How long have you been running and why did you start?

I started running in 2004 when a friend challenged me to run the 2005 Windsor Half Marathon with her and yet despite suffering from Post-Viral Syndrome, a torn Achilles, torn calf muscles and a reoccurring knee injury, I simply cannot imagine not being able to run.

How often do you run?

I generally run between 4 and 6 days a week.

What do you listen to when you are running?

A wide variety of music, but on the whole, I prefer to run without anything. This is partly for safety and partly because I am deaf and have to have the music incredibly loud for me to hear it over the traffic!

How do you stay focused and disciplined?

Simply by having my next race or challenge looming as well as my genuine love of sport. I should also mention my PT Instructor who is both inspirational and evil!

Other than running what else do you do to keep fit?

I cycle, swim and now have a wonderful PT instructor.

What is your favourite place to run?

I love to run along the Kennet and Avon canal. I am also a big fan of Parkrun and as a family we go most Saturdays either to run or volunteer, it’s the perfect way to start the weekend.

How long have you been a member of Running4Women?

Since 2005/2006 – I can’t honestly remember. I do know I was very lucky to get a R4W Club place for the Virgin London Marathon in 2007.

What are your goals for the coming year?

To fully recover from long term injury, get my 5km, 10km and 10 mile PB’s down BUT most importantly to continue to run and have fun.

If you would like to have your story featured in A Quick Cuppa With…  then please message Lianne via the Helpdesk and I will send you a very quick questionnaire.

Similar Posts:

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *